p1040509

Had to share this it is sooooo scrummy.

As soon as the days have a nip in the air I begin to crave corn bread. Introduced to corn bread by a  good friend from America I am forever thankful. Be warned  cornbread is very moorish.

I have tried different recipes for cornbread and this is my favourite. The  recipe I am using is based on Anna Hansan’s original recipe post on Great British Chefs.

Ingredients:

175 g polenta flour and extra for dusting.

150 g plain flour.

1/2 tsp bicarbonate of soda

1/4 tsp baking powder.

50 g soft brown sugar. I used rapadura whole cane, but regular is good too.

1  tsp salt flakes. Recipe said 1  tsp but I prefer slightly less salty myself.

300 ml of buttermilk at room temperature. The carton I brought was 285 ml which left me just 15 ml short for the recipe, I did not want to buy a whole other carton for just 15 ml and it came out fine using the 285 ml. However you could go also scant on the other ingredients if preferred to allow for shortage.

2 large eggs.

60 g of unsalted butter melted . I had no butter in the fridge but I had Bertolli olive spread and used that, again came out fine, but I would generally not substitute the butter  with any thing else as could be too runny and alter the breads texture.

Butter (or marge if using) for greasing.

p1040506

Method:

  1. Heat oven 180 C/ gas mark 4 and grease a large loaf tin and dust with polenta.
  2. In large bowl sift together the polenta, plain flour, bicarbonate of soda and baking powder. Mix in the salt and the sugar.
  3. In a separate bowl whisk together the buttermilk, the eggs and the melted butter and combine with the dry ingredients, using a wooden spoon.( Be sure to add the melted butter slowly, allowing it to cool slightly before adding to the eggs, you don’t want scrambled eggs! ).
  4. Pour into a loaf tin sprinkle with a little polenta and bake in the center of oven for 20 minute. Although the recipe said 20 minutes I found mine was still a little soft inside when tested with a skewer so I covered it and left for another 10 minutes and this did the job, (could be because I was cooking a double batch it took a bit longer).
  5. When ready remove from oven, and turn out onto a wire rack to cool.

GD likes his with chili flakes, so I doubled the recipe and divided the mixture between two loaf pans adding the chili ( just a pinch or two of the dried type) to the remaining mixture after turning the mixture out for the first plain loaf.

This would also cook well in a shallower roasting type pan, but keep an eye on the the cooking time as would cook quicker. Can also add things like peppers and sweetcorn.

p1040517

 

 

 

