Before it got popular to use chocolate to make rice krispie cakes this is the way we used to make them in my neck of the woods. I forgot the recipe until today my son asked if I could make him some krispie cakes. We are having a live out the cupboard/ freezer season and so when not enough chocolate was found to make the recipe I was disappointed but then remembered this and found a recipe on Food.com, so glad I did because I think the cakes taste even better that the regular ones, less chocolaty sweet and more golden syrup chewy,  I don’t really don’t know why I changed to using the melted chocolate recipe all the time  except  I remember being lured in with the happy smiley faces promoted on the rice krispie packets with the chocolate recipe. I think there is a place for both but this is my preference. These ones too are even easier to make with less washing up and no stress about whether there is enough chocolate for them to hold together.

quick and easy treat

Ingredients:           Makes 12 large cakes
2 tablespoons margarine
2 tablespoons golden caster sugar
2 tablespoons cocoa powder
3 cups Rice Krispies or Cornflakes

Directions:
 1. Put the margarine, sugar and syrup in a saucepan and heat gently until it has all melted and mixed together.
2. Remove from the heat and add the cocoa powder, mixing well.
3. Add the Rice Krispies and mix well to coat evenly.
4. Drop tablespoonfuls of the mixture into paper cases or set in a tin to shape.
5. Chill in the fridge to set, two hours to be really set, (if they make it that long), if setting in a tin you can score the cake during setting into sections to help make it easier to break into individual portions.

