GD and I had been working in the garden all morning and I needed something light but filling for our lunch, I came across this base recipe from simply recipes and I was not sorry I gave it a try. I am blogging this right away today because I want to make sure it gets kept .They are titled ‘quick easy and budget friendly’ which suits us down to the ground.  I had to play a little with the ingredients according to what I had in the larder and convert from ounces to grams.So here goes.

SOoooo tasty!

Ingredients:

2 x  6 oz  (my cans were 185 g) responsibly sourced tuna 
1 Tablespoon water or liquid from can
2 teaspoons Dijon mustard
1/2 cup white bread torn into small pieces (I used wholemeal)
1 Tablespoon  lemon juice (I did not have this)
1 teaspoon lemon zest (I did not have this)
2 Tablespoons chopped parsley ( I substituted a sprinkle of fresh thyme)
2 Tablespoons fresh chives, green onions or shallots ( I used chopped spring onion with green) 
Salt and freshly ground pepper 
Couple dashes of Tabasco sauce (I need to get some, so added Worcester sauce and chilli dip instead)
1 beaten egg ( free range organic if possible)
2 Tablespoons olive oil
1/2 teaspoon butter (organic if possible)

Method:

1. Drain the liquid from tuna can, reserving a tablespoon of the liquid if packed in water, add a teaspoon of  the olive oil and the water to the tuna mixture in the next step.
2. In a medium bowl mix together the tuna, mustard, torn bread, lemon  juice and zest, water and oil, parsley, chives or onions and hot sauce. Season to taste with the salt and pepper. Mix in the beaten egg. Mix well with a wooden spoon till well combined.
3. Divide into 4 balls and flatten into patty shape. Place on a lined tray and chill for an hour (or you can skip chilling, it just helps the patties keep their shape when cooking). I did not have time to chill but mine were fine. If I had time I would chill.
4. Heat the olive oil and butter in a frying pan. (The butter really does add to the taste so worth adding). gently place the patties in the pan and cook till nicely browned about 4 minutes on each side

Very nice served on top of a green leaf salad and tomatoe. 
Or maybe with lemon, tartar sauce or in a bun for a burger meal.
