courgette preparation
seasoning with sea salt flakes and fresh ground pepper
fun bit assembling the ingredients
ready to assemble
simmering

   

I am well excited, every year no matter how vigilant we are there are always those courgettes that we just didn’t see under all that huge foliage. Same this year and especially after we just got back from a week away. So today I was faced with a mountain of courgettes plus the biggie’s, and who  knows what to do with them, I even left them out on the front wall for the neighbour hood to have last year. Well I have cut down on the number of plants I grow but am still elbow deep in them. So I remembered last year I had a glut of tomatoes spring onion and courgettes at the same time so I would regularly put all together in a casserole dish with a bit of seasoning, olive oil and garlic and bake them, lovely on brown toast, or sprinkled and baked or grilled with cheese, but as I am determined not to buy from the supermarket anything that I could possibly grow this year and as GD is going part time and I need to think frugal, I wanted to find something I could also freeze so nothing is wasted and we could look forward to as a treat when there is not much growing. My tomatoes are only just beginning to redden this year but I do have plenty of canned tomatoes so I used those this time. I just had this for lunch with avocado and some walnuts and can’t wait to have it again. I had red celery and thyme this year abundantly, so I also added these. I looked on line also for some ideas and I liked the spices from a recipe I found on the food network kitchen so they went in too.

Ready to Freeze

Ingredients:

Equivalent of one huge courgette
2 garlic cloves finely chopped or minced
1  pepper I used green because that’s what I had in the greenhouse
Handful of spring onions diced including tails
Handful of celery chopped small include some top leaves
Few red toms sliced I only had a couple but they went in
1  14 oz can tomatoes
 Few tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
1 scant teaspoon chilli powder
Sea salt and fresh ground black pepper to taste
Fresh thyme leaves

Method:
 Pre heat oven 200 C. Then line three baking trays with foil. Peel the hardest of the skin off the courgette, (unless using small tender ones) leaving just a few of the tenderer strips on, take out any pips from the middle that have formed on older courgettes. Slice the courgette and lay out on the baking trays, sprinkle with olive, season with salt and pepper and bake in oven for about twenty minutes or until golden, turning once. Remove from heat and allow to cool slightly.
Meanwhile put a couple of tablespoons of olive oil in a frying pan, low to medium heat, add the garlic and fry gently to soften, a couple of minutes, add the spring onions, the pepper, celery and any fresh toms, heat medium and continue to soften off vegetables, add the can of tomatoes, cumin and chilli powder. Continue to cook for about ten minutes until sauce has thickened. Add any salt and pepper to taste.
Take a 10″x 12″/ 25 cm x 30 cm oven proof dish and layer the courgette with the tomato sauce, sprinkle with fresh thyme leaves and place back in hot oven and bake uncovered for about twenty minutes until all cooked through. 

MMmmmm lunch

I loved this and will be making lots up to freeze. I will also be making up batches of minestrone soup using chunked courgette which my Italian neighbour and very good cook  has just given me the recipe for, her mother also used the same recipe back in Italy to feed her large extended family. Will post as soon as made it.

