“Remember, in our inmost being, we are all completely lovable because spirit is love. Beyond what anyone can make you think or feel about yourself, your unconditioned spirit stands, shining with a love nothing can tarnish.” ~ Deepak Chopra

download.png

 Spirit is love, we are all spirit. I wish we could teach our children the essence of spirit, the essence that is love. That we don’t have to compete to better than we already are. I was once a competitive swimmer trained to push through pain and to win, training to compete for the Olympics. I am grateful always to my father that he instilled in me endurance and how to breath through pain, but also how to play a fair game. I wish I had learnt many years ago though the things that yoga has brought to me in my later years. How to be in the moment and not in the past or striving for tomorrow, how to be gracious always, living in truth, in reality and not in the false illusions that are our conditioning from the moment we take breath. Have you ever noticed how the lessons we need to learn repeat and repeat until we learn to surrender and to detach our feelings of happiness from them. We are created of the Divine, we don’t need to be anything other than that which we already are, there is no judgement because we are all are part of the one. There is beauty in a breath taking landscape, but if you go to an art museum then what is one persons art is another’s rubbish, all is only judgement, it is not real. What is, ‘is’, my happiness does not depend on an out come, it is always my attitude that will give me contentment. Gandhi preached gratitude in adversity for the lessons it affords us, and he would know. Sometimes my ego gets the better of me and I get really scared to go and teach my yoga classes, but then I remember I only share what has brought me joy, and I share because I share what has brought me stillness and lifted me from dwelling in negative thought. The things the children share with me on the matt brings me amazement at the simple profoundness of their observations and sometimes my heart breaks because of the suffering that these young lives have already embraced. Yoga is about balance, the middle road, not too much not too little. In the west we often see yoga at the gym as relaxation and exercise, but it is so much more than that, it opens awareness like nothing else, it connects us to our mind, body and spirit, it connects us to who we are.

